Promises and The Scriptwriters Strike

January 22, 2008 at 9:50 am (life, Movies)

I wrote yesterday’s posting before reading Rapport I am not going to comment on anything in particular as enough has been said.  What I will say is that I had Janine wrong, she, as is Natasha, women that have been wronged and as I have been in the same situation I know all about the promises, and that is what I have a problem with.

My heart goes out to Natasha, hugs lady.

They have both been hurt, by him and not by the press or anyone else.

I need to say something about the press, both of them are to blame for the media circus, he should have acknowledged her and she should have kept her mouth shut.

Janine is young and beautiful, she is smart and she can get out, staying then is not wise but I am not going to say she is stupid. Calling her press release on her part sleaze is unfair, she is not sleazy but the whole matter is and I know the shame of living with it, of hiding your face and ending up isolated and alone because you are ashamed of it.

At some point he made those promises and he should keep them, had he done so this whole thing would have stayed under wraps a little while longer. I think Louis van Wyk was going to sell his book on this and now they have both pulled that little carpet out.

Load shedding is going to hit us with a bang. I would not call myself a TV addict but I do enjoy my shows and they do pass the evenings which would have been completely intolerable otherwise but the writers strike in the US is going to put an end to the shows anyway.

The writers are the people that make the entertainment world spin, looks like they get the same treatment bookkeepers do.  Bookkeepers are the engine of any business, they that do the filing and punch in the info, they that pay the bills and sort out the debtors, that maintain the ledgers and balance the back account, without this no business can function effectively, yet it was the lousiest job I ever did for the worst pay and the crappiest benefits.

Writers keep viewers interested with plot lines, one liners, charachter development and sharp dialogue where would TV be without them? Well I guess more people would have a life, Steve Hofmeyr would sell even more cd’s and computer games would be the biggest money spinner (if they are’nt already)….ooops don’t computer games need script writers too, I would not know as it’s not something I am interested in at all.

Bookeeping is a good job for the less sociable people like myself and it is nice when everything balances at the end but I would rather go and lie in my grave than ever do bookkeeping again, I cannot even bring myself to balance my own cheque book I hate it so much.

So writers like bookkeepers are underpaid and under appreciated.

Leave a Reply

