New Shows

January 25, 2008 at 11:59 am (Television)

I read a couple of comments on the blogs about Feast of the Uninvited, most of them luke warm and a couple unhappy about the English. This is what I thought, being a bit of an oddball, I like things different, so of course FOTU appealled to me. Yes, I agree, I would also have preferred it to be in both Afrikaans and English. I am not sure whether the producers were wise to sacrifice authenticity for the chance of selling the show to overseas markets.

Nothing at all wrong with locally produced stuff and of course programs should have a wider appeal but the Boer War is still a delicate subject and one of much importance to Afrikaaners and in this case the non Afrikaans speakers should make do with sub-titels.

As for the show I loved it, I did not find that fun was made of anyone, I loved the refreshing way it started with a good history lesson. The history I learned at school was very biased, I was not very good at history and my teacher bored the crap out of me so I do not remember much. Today I am much more interested in history so this program is right up my alley.

It could not have been easy for Afrikaans actors to play these parts in English, but I have long felt our actors are world class and I think this show will prove it.

I read Stuart Cloete’s Rags of Glory and would love to see it on film.

The Coconuts on the other hand. It is funny but I find it stiff and contrived, local sitcoms have been around for a while and they can be quite good so I am not sure what it is with this one that it does not quite cut it. The best charachters are Patience, Percy and Beyonce where Thombo should actually be stealing the show with his good one-liners he just fades out. The ad breaks are not well timed either taking allot of the punch lines out with them. The funniest bits are the shots during the end titles where everyone is just goofing around.

Pushing Daisies is superb, I love that kind of thing. It’s a switch off your mind and watch the silly thing, if you think too much about it most of it won’t make any sense at all.

Private Practice, they got it right, Grey’s Anatomy is excellent but it would not have worked to just clone it to Private Practice, cutting down on the medical drama and putting in quirky charachters works very well.

Have a good Friday

Leave a Reply

