Birthday’s, Rugby

February 29, 2008 at 12:07 pm (Freebies, Music, Rugby)

Well today is my birthday.  For me birthdays have become rather mundane, the last ten plus years my better half has been so busy with his business, social life and own things that he managed to stuff up each and every birthday, Christmas etc.

I make it easy for him, I only have a birthday every four years but not even for that can he get his act togeher.  He made a much bigger attempt than usual this year and he gets ten out of ten for trying.  I am still alone for the evening but he was here this morning and we had a super prawn and calamari braai for lunch.  He can be really sweet when he wants to.

Yesterday my parcel from Kalahari.net finally arrived, I’d managed to track down Steve Hofmeyr’s Tribute II and his third album Steve as well as an omnibus of The Chronicles of Narnia, a lovely thick heavy book.

The Steve albums are interesting, back then when they came out I bought the tapes, I made copies and listened to them in the car.  When they packed up after several years and many hours of listening, I wanted to make  some new ones only to discover my original tapes had been stolen.  So I have not heard them in over 15 years and yet it was like I’d listened to them yesterday.

Several of the songs have stood the test of time and are also available on his Greatest Hits albums but some songs are better left to memory, must admit though he had very few of those.

Hoe Voel Jy Nou has always been one of my favorites and his version of Mammy Blue is by far the best one. His second album Only Me is not availble at any of the places I looked and is the only one in the collection I don’t have.  If anyone knows where I can get it, I will really appreciate it.

Otherwise it’s a quiet day, I am going to ignore the pile of dishes, read some blogs, hope the lovely clouds bring more rain and enjoy the rugby.  I am still trying to get my head around the new rules and the unacceptable hidings our teams have been taking, come on guys if the Aussies and the Kiwis can play to the rules so can we, we certainly do not need to take a beating.

Nowhere did I read or hear anything of Fred Michelak’s debut performance and I have to admit I was pretty impressed with him.  I enjoyed the interview SA Rugby magazine did. 

I am a Cheetah supporter by default, when I started watching Rugby seriously it was nearing the end of the Curry Cup season in 2005 and was told that I had to support a team.  I have always been a bit of a “draad sitter” a teacher called me that in standard seven or something.  So I was just minding my own business and enjoying the game when a Sharks supporter said to me, you really should pick a team and I said “Uhm Ahhhh….Actually I like the all Blacks”

So I like Bryan Habana but I am not a Bulls Supporter, I like Francois Steyn but that team plays like Karoo Rain, always full of promise but no delivery, but the Cheetahs they play like a D9 Bulldozer so he said well then support the Cheetahs and that’s how it happened.

And now I am a Springbok Supporter in soul until the politics kills the team in which case I will have to revert back to the All Blacks, Dan Carter is still my big favorite anyway.

Well have a good weekend all.

Leave a Reply

